Warpaint’s New and Experimental Sound

Warpaint-leader
Photo credit

Warpaint is a fairly new band to me, but they actually began releasing music back in 2004 out of Los Angeles, California. I have never heard them on the radio, seen them on the television, or noticed their name on any concert lineups. Their music is more indie influenced than anything, and while I enjoy indie, I do not often seek new artists within the genre. So how did I discover them? As it turns out, one of the artists in the band is actually the daughter of the general manager at my place of employment.

 

While I have been with the company for over four years, it was not until recently that I thought I would give Warpaint a listen. Sure, the general manager has spoken of the band on numerous occasions considering his pride in his daughter’s career accomplishments, but I never sat down to truly listen to them and to see what they are all about. Recently, however, the band came out with a new song, and it was all I could hear at work. You see, the general manager’s office is behind the wall of the office where I reside; and he is playing the song constantly for our fellow employees and even customers.

Taken from the band’s upcoming new album titled Heads Up, the untitled track is quite catchy. It is a dancing tune which is apparently much different than their past music. It is 80’s inspired and  funky which is really beginning to turn heads. It is a fun approach to music and you can tell that the band experimented with this single.

What I think is truly neat about Warpaint is that it is an all female band. It consists of four band members; Emily Kokal, Theresa Wayman, Jenny Lee Lindberg, and Stella Mozgawa. The four have continued to experiment with different sounds from electronic, to punk, to hip-hop and dance, and more; never settling. As what comes with an ever-changing sounds, Warpaint has also began to play music festivals such as Coachella and Bonnaroo.

Warpaint’s music appears to keep fans at the edge of their seats, always unsure and surprised of what the band releases next. Heads Up is expected to be released on September 23, 2016 and can be pre-ordered here. Not sure if their sound is for you? I urge you to check out their new song on YouTube. You are in for a treat! Check them out and enjoy the rare sounds of an all female band.

-Lindsey

Author: lindseypdavis

I am currently enrolled at the University of Nevada, Reno and am working toward a Bachelor of Science in Management. I am also currently employed full-time by an automotive corporation. I have been with the company for four years and have worked strictly in the business office which has led me to seek a career in the business industry. I enjoy working as the backbone of the company, being responsible for the company's finances, ensuring customer satisfaction, and ensuring that business is running smoothly and is in compliance with both corporation and state specific laws, policies, and procedures. Outside of work and school, one of the things I enjoy doing most is attending various concerts and festivals. I have found so much joy in music and wish to share my experiences and interpretations with those who share similar opinions.

Leave a Reply

