Ghost. An Unruly Ensemble?

I am excited to discuss an unusual band I have discovered by the name of Ghost. They have been the center of a great deal of controversy in recent months due to their musical nature and apparent religious beliefs – or lack of. To provide you with some background information, Ghost is a heavy metal band from Sweden. While they began creating music in 2008, it was not until 2016 that they became a part of the public eye in the United States. Since then, they have won awards such as Best Heavy Metal Band and Best International Band.

Ghost2015.jpg
Photo Credit

The reason why this band is controversial is that – and please stay with me on this – they are satanicDerek Welch wrote an interesting article about Ghost which provides us with a deeper look into who they are. Allow me to take a moment to note that while I am in no way a follower of Satan, I do find it interesting that a band such as Ghost has come so far while publicly practicing their beliefs. The band members’ identities are unknown and they are instead called Nameless Ghouls while the lead vocalist is known as Papa Emeritus, the anti-pope symbol. According to Welch, “the most noticeable thing about Ghost’s music is the blatant use of satanic lyrics infused with ideas of the devil, doomsday, blasphemy, sexuality, etc.”

I am posting about Ghost because I am interested in discovering your views about the band. Locally in Reno, NV, Ghost can be heard often on the radio. Some believe their satanic lyrics are too extreme to be played on air and should be banned. While this may be due to a listener’s personal religious beliefs, I for one have enjoying hearing their music played throughout the city because of the diversity. Again, while I am religious, I do appreciate the art of music in all forms. Ghost has a very interesting appearance and sounds unlike anything I have heard before. While I may not support all that they are about, I have to admit that they are intriguing.

ghostsatanic-band.jpg
Photo Credit

An interesting experience that I recently encountered was when I showed a group of friends one of Ghost’s popular videos. I will not post the video directly on this post in consideration for those of you whom wish to refrain from hearing or seeing their messages. At first, my friends were interested in their sound and the heavy metal riffs; however, the longer it played, the more upset they became. You see, two specific friends at our social gathering are deeply religious and they refused to let Ghost’s satanic music play in their home. So this prompts me to ask – should religious and unreligious folks reject the band all together, or are people looking into this too deeply?

I urge you to listen to Ghost and comment your opinions below. I am curious to see if, religion aside, we can find an appreciation for the art of music in a band as controversial as Ghost.

-Lindsey

 

Author: lindseypdavis

I am currently enrolled at the University of Nevada, Reno and am working toward a Bachelor of Science in Management. I am also currently employed full-time by an automotive corporation. I have been with the company for four years and have worked strictly in the business office which has led me to seek a career in the business industry. I enjoy working as the backbone of the company, being responsible for the company's finances, ensuring customer satisfaction, and ensuring that business is running smoothly and is in compliance with both corporation and state specific laws, policies, and procedures. Outside of work and school, one of the things I enjoy doing most is attending various concerts and festivals. I have found so much joy in music and wish to share my experiences and interpretations with those who share similar opinions.

Leave a Reply

